RSS

Creatively Speaking – Moya Delany

22 Mar

IMG_0904

A few weeks ago I posted on Melbourne designer, Creator and Artist Moya Delany.  In between a busy work load and a stifling heat wave in Melbourne, Moya has kindly agreed to be interviewed and divulge a little bit about herself, work and style… as well as a quick an easy prawn dish.  So sit back, grab a cuppa and enjoy.

How would you describe your work and style? 

My work is varied as I studied sculpture and I crossover mediums a lot. I had a fashion accessory business for ten years now I’m working with lighting. My style is a fresh and colourful mix of old and new.

IMG_2045

What, where and/or who inspires you?

I am completely inspired by Christo Gillard. He is a super talented Interior designer and DJ who I often work with. His sense of style is unparalleled and he has the most incredible resource library in his head.

Which is your favourite personal project and why?

At the moment I am loving working with these flags, some of them from wrecked warships and some from the 1800’s, they have so much history about them. I loved working with rare feathers in my accessory days too.

orb:7

IMG_2039

IMG_2036

IMG_2004

What has been the most exciting point in your career to date and why?

There are so many but a client was wearing one of my feather pieces at a Hollywood party and had Whoopi Goldberg and Goldie Hawn fighting over it trying to rip it off her !!

Fonteyn-Headband-2-145.00aud

about_married1

Do you have any major projects in the pipeline at the moment? Can you share these with us?

I am working on a sculpture exhibition which is pretty major and I expect will take a year to achieve.

If you could have your work displayed anywhere in the world, where would you like it to be displayed?

The Louvre The Guggenheim

the-louvre

What would be your dream commission?

I’d love to make some giant sculpture for one of the new freeways being built.

If someone were coming to visit your home town where would be the must stop place or places to visit?

My brothers club, “Survivor” is pretty crazy and Ichinee restaurant on st Kilda beach for great Japanese food

Describe your perfect day

Feeling healthy, a swim in the morning, getting good work done, catching up with a friend, cooking and eating a good meal

If you were to board Noah’s Ark and were told that you could take three things with you.  What would they be? 

Moisturizer, the bible and a guitar

Now as much as I love your work, I love cooking and am always eager to find out a new recipe… what is your favourite dish to cook??….Would I be able to ask for the recipe?

shrimp-tomato-feta-2

I love to cook prawns with fetta, tomato and dill sauce. Bit of garlic, bottle of passata throw in feta, dill and season – easy !!

I hope you enjoyed, have a great weekend… meantime on with the colourful adventure…..

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Creatively Speaking – Moya Delany

  1. EverydaySparks

    March 22, 2013 at 7:00 am

    Great interview & pics, BCD – a colourful Friday post! And I love the Noah’s Ark question. Have a great weekend!

     
    • birdcagedesign

      March 22, 2013 at 7:03 am

      Thanks Sparks. You have a great weekend too…. looks like a hot one today!

       

Thanks for stopping by, let me know what you think...

 
