RSS

Confessions of a Paperholic – Sydney Stroll

18 Mar

paper2-montage

If there is such a thing as a paperholic, I would have to say I am one, but  I am not looking to be cured any time soon.  I have all sorts of journals and note pads, wrapping paper, ribbons, stamps, cardboard… the list is endless…. stashed away.  Partly because I love to write journals of my travels and collect things that I see that may one day eventually help when I am lacking a little inspiration….and as much as the trusty iPhone can do most of this for you, I still need to get my paper fix every now and again!… Well the battery never dies on a journal!

One of my favourite little places to stop off after a weekend breakfast is Paper2 in Sydney’s Surry Hills. Owner Margaret Rockliff originally trained as an interior designer, but after ten years of looking at colour and fabric samples, decided to bite the bullet and retrain in her long desired area of graphic design.

margaretpaper2(urbanwalkabout)

Source (Urban Walkabout)

Magaret sources paper and stationary from around the world, but also adds her own little spice with papers, invitations and products which are all designed and printed in house… And if you cannot quite make the stroll you can also purchase online, but that would only give you half of the experience.

“I compare the resurgence of paper products to vinyl
records and record players. Both can now be by-passed when using technology but there is nothing like owning something real and tangible.”MR (interview with Habitus Magazine)

paper_hero6

Source Habitus Living

paper_hero4

Source Habitus Living

paper_hero2

Source Habitus Living

paper204

Hope you enjoyed….meanwhile on with the colourful adventure……….

 
 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

10 responses to “Confessions of a Paperholic – Sydney Stroll

  1. Cate

    March 18, 2013 at 7:15 am

    From one paperholic to another, BCD – love this post and anything paper-y too! 🙂

     
    • birdcagedesign

      March 18, 2013 at 8:30 am

      glad that there are many others out there 🙂

       
  2. Sue Schlabach 129twigandvine

    March 18, 2013 at 8:45 am

    Papers, pens, ink. Can’t get enough. This looks like a divine shop.

     
    • birdcagedesign

      March 18, 2013 at 2:16 pm

      Glad to see I am not the only Paperholic 🙂 It is very cute.

       
  3. marsellaj

    March 18, 2013 at 2:00 pm

    I miss the stationary selections we used to have at stores, I love writing letters and cards.Where would art be without paper?I should have been a graphic artist.

     
    • birdcagedesign

      March 18, 2013 at 2:17 pm

      You still could be! Stationary seems to be coming back in a big wy here thank fully, i do miss getting a nie letter in the post… it just seems to be bills these days!

       
  4. Iris Interiors LLC

    March 20, 2013 at 3:04 am

    I’m a paperholic as well. I love my stationary and still send things through the regular, old postal service. It’s so much more personal to receive something handwritten on a beautiful piece of paper or note card than in an e-mail. I feel the same way about books. Kindles are great for traveling, but there is nothing like the smell and feel of a real book. Love the pictures too!

     
    • birdcagedesign

      March 20, 2013 at 6:20 pm

      I totally agree, I only just caved into kindle as It is easier to travel, but I love physical books!

       
  5. Hidden Passions

    April 6, 2013 at 11:16 pm

    Paperholic??? Interesting to know and meet such people through your blog.

     
    • birdcagedesign

      April 7, 2013 at 11:50 am

      🙂 There are still a few of us out there who enjoy the good old fashioned paper and pen.

       

Thanks for stopping by, let me know what you think...

 
