RSS

Happy Birthday

15 Jan

you_re_one_year_old_handmade_1-year-old_shabby_chic_birthday_card_08c01544

Well today “Out of the Birdcage” turns one, it was exactly a year ago that I started to embark on the blogosphere and, thinking I would probably be talking to myself, I am really honoured to have picked up a few followers on the way, and have been given the opportunity to meet and chat with some truly talented people.

To celebrate I thought I would share the cake (courtesy of Donna Hays ideas book) I made for my nephew who turned one at the end of last year and my wonderful dad who is one year off of 70 (although don’t tell him I told you that). Not a calorie in sight! Obviously there is a huge link here to a colour consultant, although that said this is what a couple of the places look like when I turn up to advise them on the best colour for the bathroom!!

photo-21

Thank you…. and here’s to seeing what the next 12 months brings….. meanwhile on with the colourful adventure…..

 
12 Comments

Posted by on January 15, 2013 in Cookery, Craft, Recipes

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

12 responses to “Happy Birthday

  1. Theadora Brack

    January 15, 2013 at 5:30 am

    Bon Anniversaire !! I love, love the cake. What are the “white rocks” to the left made of? Brilliant! T. (And Happy New Year!)

     
    • birdcagedesign

      January 15, 2013 at 9:55 am

      Merci! They are made of Honeycomb, but if you use this you need to do it at the last minute otherwise it goes soft and deflates a bit….I hope you had a lovely Christmas and New Year

       
  2. morristownmemos by Ronnie Hammer

    January 15, 2013 at 9:18 am

    Happy Anniversary! Does that cake taste as good as it looks?

     
    • birdcagedesign

      January 15, 2013 at 9:57 am

      Thank you, it was yum and possible part of the reason why I was struggling to do the zip up on my dress yesterday morning! But that could also be due to the amount of christmas cake, gingerbread men and chocolates I have eaten over the last couple of weeks! πŸ™‚

       
  3. elisaruland

    January 15, 2013 at 1:27 pm

    Congratulations, and thank you for sharing your unique perspective of the design world. Your blog is not only beautiful, but fun, and I always look forward to the next post. Good luck, and I’ll see you next time!

    Elisa

     
    • birdcagedesign

      January 15, 2013 at 3:00 pm

      Thank you Elisa…back at you, I always love your inspiring photos and the stories behind them.

       
  4. Bella Rozen

    January 15, 2013 at 1:41 pm

    Happy birthday ,birdcage!
    May you be successful and fulfilled in all aspects of you life ,Emma!
    You are a truly talented generous person ,can’t wait to hear more from you
    Bella

     
    • birdcagedesign

      January 15, 2013 at 3:02 pm

      Thank you Bella…. such kind words from a lovely lady looking forward to seeing you soon

       
  5. marsellaj

    January 16, 2013 at 2:15 pm

    I love the birthday card. Happy, happy birthday to me…your blog is a gift!!

     
    • birdcagedesign

      January 16, 2013 at 8:01 pm

      The card is cute isn’t it, Thank you for your support, heres to the next year πŸ™‚

       
  6. Hidden Passions

    February 10, 2013 at 1:12 am

    Congratulations on getting through one year and your blog is definitely interesting. I am trying to catch up with all the posts that I’ve missed in past couple months. And yes, B’lated B’day to your blog!

     
    • birdcagedesign

      February 10, 2013 at 12:01 pm

      Thank you.. hopefully you have enjoyed catching up πŸ™‚

       

Thanks for stopping by, let me know what you think...

 
