RSS

A Very Belated Happy New Year – Let the Adventure Begin

14 Jan

Just before by yellow moon boot got bitten and my horse threw me into a bramble bush…. I think that was then end of my riding career!

I hope that you all had a lovely festive break.  Another year is beginning and as with every year I always raise the glass of bubbles with a few hopes for what the new year may bring.  That said one thing, I have learned after a few new years now ( not going to say how many) is that, that wish for the winning lotto ticket just does not seem to happen, so back to the old mantra of working hard for what you want and not being afraid to put a few ideas into practice, not forgetting to have a little adventure along the way.

One little surprise I received in the post this christmas was a disc containing pictures of my childhood summers spent in Devon with family friends…..The photo’s depicted the adventure of riding down steep hills on the back of a push bike with no breaks, jumping in ponds, camping in the back yard and scaring ourselves whit less with ghost stories, and getting on the back of a horse with the true knowledge that it was going to chew my yellow moon boots and and throw me in a hedge.  Now I am not proposing that we should all try these things, as I am not sure I would bounce back with only a couple of cuts and grazes now, but it did make me think that life can be a little bit serious at times so I think my new years resolution will be to just “go for it” add a little adventure….. (This is also a bit more realistic that giving up chocolate!)

So to help me on my way here are a few reminders of my carefree summers as a kid…. Happy New Year everyone.

Taken Just before Prince Andrew and Fergie’s wedding… I remember it vividly as we spent the whole of the wedding having gravel extracted from our knees and thighs after a little bit of a brake issue “i.e. no breaks”. Oh well better than no teeth I guess!

The intrepid back yard campers…. dressed in 80’s chic, perfect for a night out under the stars!! Not sure what I had in that handbag, I am sure it was full of useful camping things like a compass….. or maybe a lip gloss!

Riding into the sunset…. as you can see I was not trusted with the reigns…. far too reckless obviously!!

HAPPY NEW YEAR – what is your resolution???…… meanwhile on with the colourful adventure.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on January 14, 2013 in Things I love, Travel, UK

 

Tags: , , , , ,

8 responses to “A Very Belated Happy New Year – Let the Adventure Begin

  1. marsellaj

    January 14, 2013 at 5:32 am

    Wonderful snap shots of what looked like a wonderful childhood. So glad you are back, I missed you!

     
    • birdcagedesign

      January 14, 2013 at 6:15 am

      Very nice to be back. My child hood was very blessed, living in the city I look back on these photos and think of all the freedom we had as kids! Everyone knew everyone and you would disappear on an adventure reappearing when you were hungry or needed a band aid!

       
  2. morristownmemos by Ronnie Hammer

    January 14, 2013 at 7:40 am

    The pony cart is adorable; you had a magical childhood if it involved a cute pony. a cart, and someone to drive it. Sweet pictures.

     
    • birdcagedesign

      January 14, 2013 at 7:09 pm

      I was very lucky to have such great family friends who let me invade their house for a couple of weeks, they had a great friendship with the lady who owned the horse and cart and loved us going there and taking us out down the lanes!

       
  3. EverydaySparks

    January 14, 2013 at 6:46 pm

    Happy new year & welcome back, BCD! Those pictures are fabulous, what a great surprise to get in the mailbox amongst all the bills. Hope you’re going to get some printed and put them up? And I like your new year’s resolution – just go for it! 🙂

     
    • birdcagedesign

      January 14, 2013 at 7:12 pm

      Happy new year sparks, glad my little yellow moon boots cheered up your day:-) I think all I got was bills today too!

       
  4. elisaruland

    January 15, 2013 at 12:13 am

    Your photographs and memories made me smile. I loved the yellow boots as well, and felt your fear. Horses always made me nervous, and they knew it!

    Best wishes,
    Elisa

     
    • birdcagedesign

      January 15, 2013 at 7:21 am

      That is the problem with horses they know when you are a little scared of them…. I stuck to sports where I was a little more in control of my equipment such as rowing and tennis!! 🙂 Although to say I left those sports entirely injury free would be a little bit of a fib! 🙂

       

Thanks for stopping by, let me know what you think...

 
