RSS

“Six Geese a’ Laying” – Biscotti Magic

12 Dec

geese

Now you are probably beginning to get the idea that food is a bit of a feature of my christmas. Every year at work, rather than spend a fortune on little prezzies that no one really wants I decided to bake cookies and cakes….well obviously this has gone down well as I have had orders for my gingerbread men and cranberry biscotti starting in mid september….. there is also a little gingerbread thief who will remain nameless that is sure to pinch them if they are left on any desks unattended!

Cranberry Biscotti

Well today has been baking day and here is the recipe for my Cranberry Biscotti should you wish to partake.  You can add in Pistachio’s currants or white chocolate chips….. what ever takes your fancy…. well it is Christmas.

Ingredients

Half a cup of light olive oil
Three quarters of a cup of caster sugar
Two teaspoons of vanilla extract
2 eggs
One and three quarters of a cup of plain flour
One teaspoon of baking powder
Quarter a teaspoon of salt
Half a cup of cranberries
Half a cup of White chocolate Chips / Pistachio nuts / Currants

Method

Pre heat oven to 150 degrees

Mix together the oil and sugar till well combined. Add in the vanilla extract  and then beat in the eggs.  Combine the flour, salt and baking powder before mixing in the fruit and nuts etc by hand.

Divide the dough into two, the dough will  be very sticky so I wrap in cling wrap and place in the fridge for an hour in a sausage shape. Place on a baking paper covered banking tray

Bake for 35 minutes, or until the logs are a light brown.  Remove from the oven and then allow to cool for 10 minutes.

Cut into slices on the diagonal about a centimetre apart, then lie on side on the baking sheet and bake for a further 10 minutes, or until dry and then leave to cool…. yum!  I then wrap in little bags with a bit of ribbon….. and hey presto the perfect little something gift!

Now let me see if I can find those swans a swimming!!!

 
18 Comments

Posted by on December 12, 2012 in Christmas, Cookery, Craft, Recipes

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

18 responses to ““Six Geese a’ Laying” – Biscotti Magic

  1. Hidden Passions

    December 12, 2012 at 5:06 am

    Looks very delicious. I shall try this some day! And now I wish you were my colleague too 😉

     
  2. This Sydney Life

    December 12, 2012 at 7:17 am

    Most impressed you are prepared to share your recipe, BCD. My Mum’s Christmas mince recipe is top secret…!

     
    • birdcagedesign

      December 12, 2012 at 8:13 pm

      I just pray Simone will make them for me! 😉

       
    • birdcagedesign

      December 12, 2012 at 8:14 pm

      Someone will make them for me even

       
      • EverydaySparks

        December 12, 2012 at 8:20 pm

        hahahaha, was wondering who this Simone was!

         
  3. astimegoesbuy

    December 12, 2012 at 8:43 am

    What a lovely and yummy gift!
    I have found that gifts of food are really appreciated too.
    Typically I make a few different things and pop them all into a basket, box or bag – tie a pretty bow and there is a gift sorted.
    Cheers,
    Laura

     
  4. EverydaySparks

    December 12, 2012 at 6:06 pm

    Inspired post, BCD – will be adding that to my list for Christmas baking, thank you very much! 😉

     
  5. marsellaj

    December 14, 2012 at 1:09 am

    Yummmmmm! Biscotti is a favorite of mine and these look gorgeous! Just a heads up, WordPress deactivated my blog last night when I went sent a post on Natl Lampoons Christmas Vacation and I have no clue why. It’s very upsetting, this is like a child to me, lol. I was worried I’d lose my connection to all of my little family members (you), whew, you are still here. I would be heartbroken not to see this blog. You are a bright spot in my life. Keep on cookin girl!

     
    • birdcagedesign

      December 14, 2012 at 8:44 pm

      I will do, glad you got your connection back and thank you as always for your very kind words 🙂

       
  6. morristownmemos by Ronnie Hammer

    December 15, 2012 at 9:42 am

    These biscotti remind me of a recipe that was in the long-discontinued GOURMET magazine. As yours seem, they were surprisingly were easy to make and delicious. You have inspired me to bake the cranberry version.

     
  7. linda

    December 27, 2012 at 4:41 am

    Sounds wonderful! Regarding the last line of the recipe, is it a half cup of each or do you choose one of these? Thanks so much I can’t wait to make it!

     
    • birdcagedesign

      December 27, 2012 at 7:52 am

      Hi – half a cup of each although you can put in as much as you like. Let me know how you go- I am on my fifth batch for Christmas they are a winner! 🙂

       
  8. Deborah Batchelor

    December 27, 2012 at 2:51 pm

    It’s post-Christmas but these just look so delicious that I’ll be making them soon!

     
    • birdcagedesign

      December 28, 2012 at 7:59 am

      They are good for any time! Hope you enjoy:-)

       
  9. linda

    December 30, 2012 at 8:17 pm

    I’m assuming these are fresh cranberries rather than candied? Thanks!

     
  10. intecoolochoberord

    January 3, 2013 at 6:12 am

    A disaster for a pregnant woman to read in the middle of the night, starting massive cravings. 🙂
    Hope you had a great Christmas and a wonderful New Year’s eve!

     

Thanks for stopping by, let me know what you think...

 
