RSS

“Five Gold Rings” – The Icing on The Cake

11 Dec

photo9

Now this is not technically 5 gold rings…. more like one iced fruitcake circle really, but what is a couple of gold rings between posts!

Well having made the cake, and still being inspired by my Heineken cake effort, I thought I would take the plunge and have a go at icing the christmas cake so that I can check another thing off the Christmas preparation todo list. Now the biggest decision to make was whether to go plain or novelty….. following the KISS theory, and for the sake of my sanity, I decided to Keep It Simple Sweetheart!  So duvet with holly on top here we come!.

The finished product above.

The starting point….. Followed by the icing… very impressed with my smoothing skills!!

Still not sure how I am going to decorate…so to stall…. I know just add a ribbon….

…OK lets get the ruler and pizza cutter out and draw up the lines….

….use tiny tooth tool to make it look like stitching…. Gosh I am getting very advances now!!!

…Add a sprig of Holly and Voila….. Now where can I find some Geese a’ Layin???

 
11 Comments

Posted by on December 11, 2012 in Christmas, Cookery, Craft, Recipes

 

Tags: , , , , ,

11 responses to ““Five Gold Rings” – The Icing on The Cake

  1. livingsimplyfree

    December 11, 2012 at 6:00 am

    That is fantastic. I had to stop and take a closer look at the first picture to make sure that was really a cake! Well done

     
  2. Iris Interiors LLC

    December 11, 2012 at 8:21 am

    Wow. The cake came out perfectly. I’m so impressed with your fondant skills and love the festive results!

     
    • birdcagedesign

      December 11, 2012 at 3:19 pm

      Thank you…. I kept it simple which I think helped…. just hope it tastes OK 🙂

       
  3. EverydaySparks

    December 11, 2012 at 3:38 pm

    BCD, that is AMAZING! Well done, you! It looks fantastic…and if you make me a cake like that, I will find those geese a layin’ for you, don’t you worry! 🙂

     
    • birdcagedesign

      December 11, 2012 at 4:53 pm

      I will put in an order for you for next year! Welcome back by the way, i hope you had good fun in the US!

       
  4. This Sydney Life

    December 11, 2012 at 5:06 pm

    I bow to your superior cake icing skills. Wow, BCD – is there no end to your Christmas talents?

     
  5. marsellaj

    December 14, 2012 at 1:12 am

    You are just amazin, I love this. Simple was an excellent choice. KISS, what would I do without it?

     
    • birdcagedesign

      December 14, 2012 at 8:43 pm

      It is a good mantra to have! I just need to keep reminding myself of it!

       
  6. Hidden Passions

    January 9, 2013 at 2:43 am

    whoaa.. that looks delicious! Great job!

     
    • birdcagedesign

      January 10, 2013 at 1:37 pm

      Thank you, it went within 5 days with some good reviews!

       

Thanks for stopping by, let me know what you think...

 
