RSS

“Four Calling Birds” – Know your place!

10 Dec

calling birds

Ok…. I could not manage to lay my hands on any Calling Birds (completely sold out!)….. but I have hopefully made the next best thing.  Having married into a Greek family, Christmas is never a small affair, nor a particularly quiet affair ( I am told that they are just expressing themselves… but to me it sounds like they are screaming to each other!!) I guess that, like a hot Christmas that is one thing I will never get used to.  Anyway, to try and avoid an “expressive discussion” around where everyone sits at the Christmas table I generally make little name places.

Last year I had some left over air dry clay from a design and branding project I completed for a client and decided to roll it out, pull out the cookie cutters and carve in the initial of each person.  This was tied around the napkin, and they could take them home and hang on the tree. Perfect….. Oh and I got to use my little stamp set again.

IMG_0575

IMG_0576

…and a little bit of repurpose as this years christmas tree decorations….

Now….where are those Five Gold Rings?……

 
9 Comments

Posted by on December 10, 2012 in Christmas, Craft

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

9 responses to ““Four Calling Birds” – Know your place!

  1. This Sydney Life

    December 10, 2012 at 8:38 am

    Woohoo – CREATIVE BCD!!!

     
  2. livingsimplyfree

    December 10, 2012 at 11:14 am

    Those are really nice. We don’t have trouble here, every one picks where they want to sit, and the elderly family members are given preference in seating, people actually get up to let them have a more comfortable seat or one that is easier for them to get in and out of.

     
  3. elisaruland

    December 10, 2012 at 1:48 pm

    FIVE GOOOLDEN RINGS!!!! (I’ve been dying to do that)

    🙂

     
    • birdcagedesign

      December 11, 2012 at 7:25 am

      ha ha, good to see you are getting into the spirit! 🙂

       
  4. twoblackdoggies

    December 29, 2012 at 3:52 pm

    You’re such a creative and talented soul, hope your Christmas was a fun affair.

     
    • birdcagedesign

      December 29, 2012 at 5:08 pm

      I have had a wonderful Christmas …. My family is keeping me very busy hence the lack of posts but will be back in the new year! Hope you have had a wonderful Christmas too 🙂

       
      • twoblackdoggies

        December 29, 2012 at 5:10 pm

        I know how you feel, it has been a busy lead up to Christmas and NYE. Yes, Christmas was wonderful 🙂

         

Thanks for stopping by, let me know what you think...

 
