RSS

Creatively Speaking – Tam Turnbull “I Like Birds”

07 Dec
DSC_0586

One of my favourite streets in Sydney is William Street, in the suburb of Paddington.  It has lots of gorgeous boutique shops, a little Italian Cafe and cute pubs which nestle on the corner to cosy up with a few friends for an after work drink.  One shop which has caught my eye on numerous occasions, probably because of my business name, is “I Like Birds”.  For those of you who love vintage, or like that little nostalgic trip back in time then you will “Like Birds” too.

DSC_0571
Tam kindly agreed for me to intrude into her store and answer a few questions for my little Friday spot.

How would you describe your style?

I would describe my shop and style both as an ever changing curation of lovely things.

DSC_0579

What / Where / Who inspires you?

I find inspiration everywhere. I love magazines, antique centres, flea markets, architecture, gardens, the TV show “American Pickers.”

DSC_0575

DSC_0574

Where did your love of vintage come from and what makes your style unique to you?

I’ve always been a collector of found objects and second-hand things. Trawling through second-hand markets is my ‘happy place’. I guess my style is unique in that I collect with emotion. I surround myself with things that make me happy, regardless of their practicality. I read a quote recently that said “objects matter beyond their utility”. I couldn’t agree more.

DSC_0581

DSC_0580

DSC_0582

 Which is your favorite piece or pieces and why?

Its impossible for me to pick a favourite piece. There would be at least 20 things that would come equal first on a favourites list.

DSC_0573

DSC_0576

DSC_0572

DSC_0584

DSC_0583

 What has been the most exciting point in your career so far?

The most exciting point so far in my career would be being featured in Inside Out Magazine earlier this year. Inside Out has been been my design & style bible for many, many years and to be supported by them was a thrill.

INSIDE OUT

If you could commission anyone to make something to sell in your shop who and what would it be?

I would commission Florence Broadhurst to create a signature print for me, for curtains , cushions and wallpaper.

Florence Broadhurst - source Signature Prints

Florence Broadhurst – source Signature Prints

Where would you recommend someone coming to visit your home town visit….where would be the must stop place or places to see

Sydney has so much to see. A ferry tour of the Harbour is a must. And a shop down William Street, Paddington.

Describe your perfect day

My perfect day would be an early visit to my favourite flea market, followed by coffee and the Sunday paper, then a lie down on the sand at Bondi Beach, and cocktails at sunset on my balcony.

Now as much as I love your shop, I love cooking and am always eager to find out a new recipe… what is your favorite dish to cook??

I am a DISASTER in the kitchen. I always joke that paramedics should be on standby when I attempt to cook anything.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Creatively Speaking – Tam Turnbull “I Like Birds”

  1. This Sydney Life

    December 7, 2012 at 6:20 am

    BCD – Williams Street is surely one of THE best strolling streets in Sydney. Totally agree!

     
  2. elisaruland

    December 7, 2012 at 1:42 pm

    A delightful little shop located on a charming little street. Paradise!

     
    • birdcagedesign

      December 7, 2012 at 4:24 pm

      I used to live just off of this street when I first moved to Australia so it has a special place in my past, and I can thoroughly recommend a visit if you ever come…. just don’t forget your purse 🙂

       
  3. in80plays

    December 7, 2012 at 6:16 pm

    This looks amazing. I’m so excited to visit Sydney next month- William Street is now definitely on my to-hang-out-on list.

     
    • birdcagedesign

      December 7, 2012 at 6:18 pm

      You will love it, padding ton and the surrounds are just as great! Have fun:-)

       
  4. marsellaj

    December 14, 2012 at 1:18 am

    What an absolute delight her shop is, and I Love Birds too!!

     
    • birdcagedesign

      December 14, 2012 at 8:43 pm

      You would love it, always changing, a little trip down memory lane

       

Thanks for stopping by, let me know what you think...

 
