RSS

Partridge in a Pear Tree – Wacky Wrapping

03 Dec

Well there is no escaping it, we are creeping up to Christmas, and with December firmly here I feel that I can legitimately start to get a little Christmassy….. having moved to Australia from the UK 12 years ago there is still something not quite right about a hot Christmas, but I am not going to complain. Β Even better this year will be the first year that I will have spent Christmas day with my immediate family from the UK since I arrived so very excited.

While we wait for the man of the moment to shimmy down our non existent chimney, I have a few things to get ready, meaning that my posts are likely to focus around my festive antics for the next few weeks…. so you will get to see my wacky wrapping skills, share my Christmas Cake recipe and……. there may be a few gingerbread men thrown in for good luck….. Hope you enjoy…. if not just humour me and blame it on one too many egg nogs!

Wrapping up a game – Wacky Wrapping Take One

My five year old god daughter thankfully has not succumb to the world of iPad’s and gadgets, a girl after my own heart she loves to make stuff, and glue little bits of stuff to other little bits of stuff…. so armed with my christmas budget I duly went out and purchased a kids craft box of delights (I cannot disclose the exact item at this point incase of spoiler) that will help her continue this penchant!!

Now as kids love presents, I thought lots of little individual parcels would be more exciting than one, and as it happened I ended up with twelve. Inspired by the christmas song about twelve gifts that a true love gave to some lucky person ( maids a milking – not quite sure what I would do with them!), I made little tags for each verse, together with some instructions so that they are opened in accordance with the song…..Oh and it just so happened that my wrapping paper is the print of a partridge in a pear tree…. (it was fate).

Inspired by some of the fine embroidery talent I have featured on my blog….. I did attempt to use the writing function on my sewing machine, but lets put it this way after several needle breakages, and the words looking more like how Santa would “say” them after one too many sherries….. my little stamp kit took over!

On the Twelfth day of Christmas, My godparents gave to me:

Twelve drummers drumming

Eleven pipers piping

Ten lords a-leaping

Nine ladies dancing

Eight maids a-milking

Seven swans a-swimming

Six geese a-laying

Five golden rings

Four calling birds

Three french hens

Two turtle doves

and a partridge in a pear tree.

So now I have found the Partridge in a Pear Tree….. I am off to find a couple of turtle doves….

 
16 Comments

Posted by on December 3, 2012 in Art, Craft

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

16 responses to “Partridge in a Pear Tree – Wacky Wrapping

  1. livingsimplyfree

    December 3, 2012 at 5:45 am

    I love it!! I have two grand daughters, the oldest at 4 is extremely crafty so I put together an assortment of craft items for her. Then I received a request for crafting supplies for the youngest at 21 months. I have been having so much fun putting these together so I can imagine the fun you have been having as well.

     
    • birdcagedesign

      December 4, 2012 at 6:03 am

      It is good to see, i much prefer that than seeing them glued to iPhones and iPads.

       
  2. This Sydney Life

    December 3, 2012 at 7:28 am

    BCD – I am known in my family for my co-ordinated (and themed) wrapping every year. You, my friend, have raised the bar to a new high. Your presents are just gorgeous. I love what you have done.

    And, for the record, my Mum (originally from Germany) still says it doesn’t feel right having a hot Christmas…

     
    • birdcagedesign

      December 3, 2012 at 5:48 pm

      Aha… I have finally found someone like me in the coordinated christmas wrapping steaks!!

       
  3. astimegoesbuy

    December 3, 2012 at 11:45 am

    What a great God-mother you are!
    I moved from the US to Australia about 11 years ago and know what you mean about Christmas in the hot weather…it’s still not quite right but I’m working on adjusting to eating seafood and bbq for Christmas dinner. πŸ™‚
    Hope you have a fantastic time with your family visiting.
    Cheers,
    Laura

     
    • birdcagedesign

      December 3, 2012 at 5:47 pm

      I don’t think we will ever get used to it! πŸ™‚

       
      • astimegoesbuy

        December 3, 2012 at 9:58 pm

        It’s always just a little off but I am glad to be here. πŸ™‚

         
  4. elisaruland

    December 3, 2012 at 12:28 pm

    Your excitement over the Christmas Holiday was just the lift I needed to get into the Christmas Spirit!

    elisa

     
    • birdcagedesign

      December 3, 2012 at 5:46 pm

      You just need to raise a glass of mulled wine or champers now! πŸ™‚

       
      • elisaruland

        December 3, 2012 at 11:09 pm

        How did you know?!!
        πŸ˜‰

         
  5. marsellaj

    December 4, 2012 at 10:45 am

    I love the wrap. I make mini snowmen wrapped up, ascending in size to the big day. They have become a tradition and all my friends ask for them but I only make so many sets a year.

     
    • birdcagedesign

      December 4, 2012 at 2:48 pm

      You should put up a blog post on them, I would love to see

       
  6. Terri at Time To Be Inspired

    December 8, 2012 at 4:17 am

    Love your wrapping! Now that the bulk of my baking is done I need to start some other preparations, and gift wrapping is high on the list. Where are those elves when you need them?

     
    • birdcagedesign

      December 8, 2012 at 12:16 pm

      I know I have been looking for them for years…. I would like ones that do the vacuuming and ironing if possible! πŸ™‚

       
  7. Steph

    September 30, 2013 at 2:36 am

    where did you find this amazing wrapping paper??

     
    • birdcagedesign

      September 30, 2013 at 7:05 am

      Hi Steph
      I got it online through a company called the wrapping paper co. they are wholesale. That said the do sell to the Public with a minimum order of $100 but it is such good value. You can always get together with a couple of friends. They Also have fantastic ribbons. The rolls are really massive so these will see me through a few more Christmases!! πŸ™‚

       

Thanks for stopping by, let me know what you think...

 
