RSS

Remnant Style – Carola Van Dyke

12 Nov

Initially starting a business making baby booties Carola began to play around with the offcuts and her collections of vintage fabrics which were later to become the start of a new venture.

Carola now creates hand made cushions and character filled animal heads (my favourite) with an eclectic mix of modern and vintage fabrics. ย Carola started off as a one man band but now employs a number of people from her local community which makes for an all-round more homely business.

Carola in her UK studio

Here are a selection of her creations which are available on her online store (while they last).

Queenie Cushion

Various dog cushions

Assortment of Animal Heads

Hare Head

Deer Head

Whippet Head

Let me know your thoughts….. meanwhile on with the colourful journey.

 
18 Comments

Posted by on November 12, 2012 in Art, Fabric, Interior Design, Travel, UK, UK designers

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

18 responses to “Remnant Style – Carola Van Dyke

  1. Pillows A-La-Mode

    November 12, 2012 at 5:43 am

    Wow . . . those cushions are amazing!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

     
    • birdcagedesign

      November 12, 2012 at 6:08 am

      They are very cute! I love the bull dog one

       
  2. elyseslifeasiknowit

    November 12, 2012 at 6:51 am

    Wow, those heads are amazing, as are the pillows, I love the booties too! The Whippet head is my favorite. I could really have fun on her website!

     
    • birdcagedesign

      November 12, 2012 at 6:38 pm

      They are so fun, I love the whippet too, I think it is the little cheeky face ๐Ÿ™‚

       
  3. Iris Interiors LLC

    November 12, 2012 at 7:44 am

    Love all of the colors and the fuzzy hare head is too cute.

     
  4. This Sydney Life

    November 12, 2012 at 7:46 am

    You just KNOW I’m going to love all of these. Right, BCD? ๐Ÿ™‚

     
    • birdcagedesign

      November 12, 2012 at 6:37 pm

      I thought they might appeal to you ๐Ÿ™‚

       
  5. Hidden Passions

    November 12, 2012 at 11:03 am

    absolutely creative and very attention to detail.. great work!

     
  6. twoblackdoggies

    November 12, 2012 at 9:03 pm

    Love, love, love the cushions but I’m still a bit iffy about animal heads on the wall – even fake, soft, handmade ones.

     
  7. marsellaj

    November 16, 2012 at 2:12 am

    I have a weakness for pillows. It was the first thing I learned to sew when I got my first apartment. They still hold a fascination for me. They are like mini canvases and each one can be unique, not boring solid colors for me. She is wonderful…although pillows never inspired me to make animal heads. Where did I go wrong?

     
  8. narhvalur

    November 18, 2012 at 5:56 pm

    Reblogged this on Ann Novek–With the Sky as the Ceiling and the Heart Outdoors and commented:
    Add your thoughts here… (optional)

     
  9. narhvalur

    November 18, 2012 at 5:57 pm

    Wonderful trophies that ain’t made from living animals!

     
  10. E

    April 30, 2013 at 9:03 am

    is there a pattern available for this?

     
  11. Denise

    September 13, 2015 at 2:39 am

    I realy like the greyhound/whippet head ๐Ÿ™‚
    Are they made to sell ?

     

Thanks for stopping by, let me know what you think...

 
