RSS

Wallpaper Paint

07 Nov

UK based Clare Bosanquet stumbled across these paint rollers in a market in Romania, where they have been used for the last 100 years or so as an alternative to wallpaper. Through her company The Painted House and easy shop, Clare has bought the roller back to life.  There are two types of rollers, one for fabric and one for walls.  Her website shows a number of techniques and ideas which are fun, from simple bunting to whole rooms!

The rollers on the walls probably require a steady hand, but are perfect for those who want to get a wallpaper style look on an uneven wall…

I love these little deers…..

I am not sure whether I would be game to try and paint a wall – I am not sure I would end up with the desired effect… but hey it is only paint!, I do love the idea of the fabric.  What do you think?

Mean while on with the colourful journey….

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

11 responses to “Wallpaper Paint

  1. Hidden Passions

    November 7, 2012 at 6:42 am

    this is one such an informative piece!

     
  2. This Sydney Life

    November 7, 2012 at 6:53 am

    Oooh – BCD. I love this find. Gets the creative juices flowing…

     
  3. mareelouise

    November 7, 2012 at 4:19 pm

    How absolutely fabulous- j’adore!

     
    • birdcagedesign

      November 7, 2012 at 6:30 pm

      They are fun, I love it when they bring back an old craft for modern style!

       
  4. Iris Interiors LLC

    November 8, 2012 at 1:30 pm

    Wow. It’s beautiful and such a cool idea. I have to go with you and say i love the deer!

     
    • birdcagedesign

      November 8, 2012 at 1:42 pm

      The do get the creative thoughts flowing…..:-)

       
  5. twoblackdoggies

    November 13, 2012 at 5:36 pm

    I wouldn’t mind giving it a go, the designs are beautiful and if it all goes to hell I could just paint over it 🙂

     
    • birdcagedesign

      November 13, 2012 at 7:23 pm

      Thats the spirit. If you do give it a go it would be great to see how you go 🙂

       
      • marsellaj

        November 16, 2012 at 2:34 am

        First I thought…wouldn’t it be easier to wallpaper? Then I started thinking of all the fun things you could do with these and wallpaper is pricey. I’m in!

         
        • birdcagedesign

          November 16, 2012 at 6:43 am

          It also makes it easier to wallpaper ther bumps without air bubbles! I agree though there is a lot more fun to be had with this little tool!

           

Thanks for stopping by, let me know what you think...

 
