RSS

Embossed Beauty – Bethany Linz

03 Oct

Sydney based artist, designer and illustrator Bethany Linz has a pretty impressive CV.  Moving to Sydney to design for the prestigious Mokum textiles in 2006, where she travelled around the world to present collections, and worked with the Oscar winning costume and production designer Catherine Martin, you could say she has a pretty good pedigree in the world of design.

Bethany has now left Mokum textiles to pursue her fine arts talent full time, with her collection of embossed paper artwork taking centre stage.  All of them are diligently hand drawn, carved, pressed and then painted, although may are left without the addition of colour just sing the natural light an shade of the embossing to show their beauty…

“My embossings, drawings and paintings also show my love for design, unfortunately today design is so often turned into flat non tactile and computer generated works”

“To me colour has always been what draws me to an artwork, but I have recently discovered while creating my embossings that working in just white can make art come to life in a whole other way without colour. ”

Let me know which is your favourite…. For those of you in Sydney Bethany’s work is currently being exhibited… the details are below.

meanwhile…..on with the colourful journey…..

(all images sourced from Bethany’s website)

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

13 responses to “Embossed Beauty – Bethany Linz

  1. The Muddy Kitchen

    October 3, 2012 at 6:07 am

    Gorgeous. Love this! Love everything on your blog. I look forward to reading each time a new entry shows up in my in-box.
    x jennifer

     
    • birdcagedesign

      October 3, 2012 at 10:01 pm

      Thank you Jennifer, I am glad you enjoy… means a lot to me 🙂

       
  2. leblogdemarie

    October 3, 2012 at 6:35 am

    Just love stopping by here! Always something unique and beautiful!

     
    • birdcagedesign

      October 3, 2012 at 10:00 pm

      We love having you!! Glad you enjoy, I also love all your fab photo’s and stories 🙂

       
  3. marsellaj

    October 3, 2012 at 7:19 am

    Exquisite!

     
    • birdcagedesign

      October 3, 2012 at 9:59 pm

      She is very clever, you would probably love her website too, lots of other beautiful work 🙂

       
  4. Hidden Passions

    October 3, 2012 at 11:52 am

    Awesome.. I love the swan (colored beak) and the one below flower.. I wish you had named them.. it wud’ve been easy to just say it!

     
    • birdcagedesign

      October 3, 2012 at 9:59 pm

      it is so much fun to describe though!! 🙂

       
  5. EverydaySparks

    October 3, 2012 at 11:56 am

    What a clever lady, BCD! I think the first one is probably my favourite, though they are all pretty amazing, aren’t they? A great find, thanks for sharing 🙂

     
    • birdcagedesign

      October 3, 2012 at 9:58 pm

      She is, I love them… need to start saving up!

       
  6. Bethany Linz

    October 6, 2012 at 9:35 am

    Thanks you for such a beautiful write up! It’s so lovely to see designers are supporting me and my work.

    Bethany Linz xx

     
    • birdcagedesign

      October 6, 2012 at 10:28 am

      I am so glad you liked the post! Your work is beautiful so speaks for itself 🙂

       

Thanks for stopping by, let me know what you think...

 
