RSS

Hand Made in France – Manon Gignoux

27 Sep

Parisian Manon Gignoux is cited as one of the many influences of my interviewee tomorrow. My curiosity got the better of me and I decided to investigate… and I am glad I did!

Gignoux describes her work as the meeting between clothes, body and decor, and as such creates unique hand made fabric sculptures, clothes dressed objects and accessories.   The result lies between art and fashion….. not a bad place to be!!!

I love the inspirational photo’s as much as the finished pieces.  I hope that you enjoy too….

Influences and Interpretation

Manon sites a number of influences in her works, the Portraits of Dorothea Lange being one where the wear and tear of the fabric that they wear tells a story of the experiences of the wearer.

dorothea-lange_migrant-mother-composite

source “iconic photo’s” Dorothea Lange

“The material and shape of the clothes can end up containing the story of a person, this is a truth conquered the force of look I am trying to deploy then by seeking past lives in the material traces that people left, not to make history but to imagine their memory.”


Garbage collection

On journeys through the city on her push bike Manon loved to collect discarded clothes and objects which formed inspiration for her work… quite literally “up cycling” …..

Manon Gignoux Studio | Paris

source Eric Valdinaire – Manon Gignoux’s Studio Paris

Manon Gignoux Studio | Paris

Manon Gignoux Studio | Paris

tressage

The family home

Manon’s family home has been in the family for seven generations.  She began to photograph the details trying to look at the objects, clothing and furniture from a different perspective….

Photo_fauteuilpoupe_2

More of Manon’s beautiful work…

 

I love it all the textures and the colour palettes and the whimsical charm….. how about you, let me know what you think.

Meanwhile on with the colourful journey………………….

 
10 Comments

Posted by on September 27, 2012 in Art, Colour, Fabric, France, Interior Design, Travel

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

10 responses to “Hand Made in France – Manon Gignoux

  1. Terri at Time To Be Inspired

    September 27, 2012 at 8:51 am

    What an interesting artist. I love the figurative work!

     
    • birdcagedesign

      September 27, 2012 at 7:05 pm

      She is very interesting, I think there is a little bit more to her than I was really able to show 🙂

       
  2. Ien en Hetty

    June 5, 2014 at 2:28 am

    My sister and I love your dolls, we call them dolls.
    Can you please tell me the price of these dolls?
    Maybe we are able to buy one or two.
    Friendly regards from
    Ien en Hetty from the Netherlands

     
    • birdcagedesign

      June 5, 2014 at 12:48 pm

      Hi hetty – unfortunately I am not the creator of these items they are the work of manon gignoux a French artist, you would need to contact her directly. Let me know how you go – all the best

       
  3. Barbara Chalifoux

    August 15, 2016 at 12:19 am

    Love the work of this Artist. Thanks for sharing.

     
  4. Diane Hanna

    September 27, 2016 at 12:51 am

    Her work is absolutely wonderful! Thank you so much for sharing it.

     
  5. JR

    June 17, 2017 at 5:31 pm

    I resonate with this artist very much and she articulates the underlying creative exploration in my own artwork…. Can you please share the source of the quotes you included by Manon? Where did you find them? Can you please guide me to more in depth resources? Thank you so much.

     
  6. Hazel

    June 24, 2017 at 6:36 am

    Omg I just love your work, so earthy, it got my creative juices flowing again. I like to make different I think it makes people think, I could stand and look at it all day. I am going to the sewing room and the secondhand shops, you can find great things there. Thanks Hazel

     

Thanks for stopping by, let me know what you think...

 
