RSS

Graceful Glass – Holly Grace

16 Aug

Did you know that the word landscape and also landscape painting originates from the Dutch word landschap. In the 16th Century the word became associated with a genre of painting that described a vista or view of nature.
With this in mind Perth born, Canberra based, glass artist Holly Grace, takes her personal landscape photos from her Australian, European and Scandanavian travels to produce the most stunning glass ware by sand carving and etching them into blown glass forms. Holly also ensures transparency in the glass to allow for shadows cast by the natural day light to make these sculptures continually change as the landscape it represents would.
Ā 


Here are a few examples of Holly’s work….

Landscape Range

Bonsai

Using metal leaf and sand carving Holly has taken inspiration from the miniature Japanese tree to create her Bonsai collection

LEAF

Canopy

My favourite has to be the Canopy range,and with prices starting in the $3,000 range I now know my taste is very expensive ( why is it that I always naturally focus on something with a healthy price tag… oh well dream for that lotto again!)


Which one is your favourite?……on with the colourful journey…..
 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

12 responses to “Graceful Glass – Holly Grace

  1. This Sydney Life

    August 16, 2012 at 8:06 am

    I did not know that the word ‘landscape’ originated from the Dutch word landschap. An educational post, BCD! I’m with you – Canopy is my definite favourite.

    The work involved with Holly’s pieces blows my mind.

     
    • birdcagedesign

      August 16, 2012 at 9:18 am

      Glad you liked that little fact… I did not know that either šŸ™‚ They are amazing, they remind me of melting ice sculptures as well.

       
  2. apartments i like

    August 16, 2012 at 11:58 pm

    Very original and unusual works of art. Love the Landscape Range collection.

     
  3. narhvalur

    August 18, 2012 at 12:24 pm

     
  4. hemouse

    August 18, 2012 at 1:09 pm

    Holly Grace is so beautiful

     
    • birdcagedesign

      August 18, 2012 at 1:11 pm

      Thank you for stopping by, I am glad that you enjoyed the post….Her work is stunning šŸ™‚

       
  5. Russel Ray Photos

    August 25, 2012 at 3:10 pm

    Wow! Just wow!

     
    • birdcagedesign

      August 25, 2012 at 4:26 pm

      They are really stunning aren’t they. Very talented lady!

       
  6. elisaruland

    August 31, 2013 at 12:39 am

    I haven’t been a consistent blogger these days, and I’ve missed so many of your beautiful posts. It’s been nice to catch up!

     
    • birdcagedesign

      August 31, 2013 at 2:13 pm

      I have been a little bit out of it for the last couple of months as well. I am trying to get back into it in the next couple of weeks. Thank you for your kind comments it makes it all worthwhile. i love your little quirky photo’s in my inbox too šŸ˜‰

       
      • elisaruland

        August 31, 2013 at 2:38 pm

        Lets hope we all get back on schedule, soon! I have to ask, what quirky photos did you find in your inbox? Never say never, but I’m sure I didn’t send you any. Yikes!!

         

Thanks for stopping by, let me know what you think...

 
