RSS

Glass Half Full – Peter Ivy

10 Aug

Very rustic and industrial in their design Peter Ivy has created some unusual but functional glassware, and  I would certainly like to clear a few shelves in my glass cupboard to house them. OK just add this to the list….

American glass artist Peter Ivy was originally made simplified works for personal his use while living in the US, it wasn’t until moving to Japan where he is now based with his Japanese wife and children that he found a connection between his style sensibility as a maker and the culture in Japan. And well a beautiful collection was born into creation.

“For me there is also an ironic side to the possibility displaying works [in Japan]. When I lived in the U.S. I often made the simplest of works for myself to use at home. I never even considered trying to sell them there at that time. It would have been impossible as they were too simple for the general market. When I came to Japan I recognized quickly that there was a fit between my own sensibility as a maker and the culture here. I also felt a great curiosity about the sensibility of hand made items in Japan that I had not discovered in in the U.S.”

Jars (above) for storing tea coffee of japanese pickles…..and hand blown green tinter tumblers for enjoying your Japanese Beer or Saki (below) – Source remodelista.com

Pasta jars or Soba Noodles… the choice is yours…..

So this analogy of the glass half full leads me nicely with a segway to a “tag” I received from a fellow Sydney Sider blogger This Sydney Life as part of a blog relay about hope.  Well when I thought about how I would represent hope, to me it is all about a Glass half full, you only get one chance at life and as such you should live it to the full, and when the prevebial hits the fan…. which it inevitably will at some point…. well there is not much you can do about it, just pick yourself up, dust off that preverbal and move on…. So on that note I will leave you with the following quote:

“Listen to the mustn’ts, child. Listen to the don’ts. Listen to the shouldn’ts, the impossibles, the won’ts. Listen to the never haves, then listen close to me… Anything can happen, child. Anything can be.”
Shel Silverstein

And in honour of the last day of the Olympics I pass on the relay baton ….should you choose to accept….. to some bloggers that I simply cannot wait to see their interpretation.

Elissa – Fun and Fabulous

Anna Novak

Two Black Dogs

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Glass Half Full – Peter Ivy

  1. EverydaySparks

    August 10, 2012 at 2:14 pm

    LOVE that quote, BCD and really love your take on the Hope relay – gold medal performance, my friend! Those glasses are very cool, and it’s interesting that he moved halfway around the world to find a culture that fit with his design – I really like that idea.

     
    • birdcagedesign

      August 10, 2012 at 2:25 pm

      Thank you Sparks….was actually quite hard to not go into an essay…. but I tried to restrain and the quote summed my view up nicely ( so I thought I would pinch it!). Completely agree re Mr Ivy, it just shows you that there is a place for everyone, the irony is that these products glasses have now been bought back to the US and sold as Japanese…… 🙂

       
  2. This Sydney Life

    August 15, 2012 at 7:27 am

    Hello my Glass-half Full blogging mate! I just love that quote. I have filed it away – just magical.

    Peter Ivy’s work is wonderful. You make the best finds!

     
    • birdcagedesign

      August 15, 2012 at 7:51 am

      It is my moto! When ever someone says I can’t I just have to proove them wrong! Although jumping off a cliff is one thing I may show them the benefit of the doubt on!

       
  3. twoblackdoggies

    August 22, 2012 at 11:03 am

    I’m a bit slow in grasping the relay baton and I can’t even blame the fact that we don’t have daylight savings 🙂

    That quote is perfect and reminds me to try and be a ‘glass half full’ person more often and even though the Olympics are well and truly over I’ll see what I can come up with for Hope 2012.

     
    • birdcagedesign

      August 22, 2012 at 1:58 pm

      Cannot wait to see what you come up with 🙂

       

Thanks for stopping by, let me know what you think...

 
