RSS

Divine Inspiration from the Vatican

26 Jul

I thought I would share a little ray of sunshine with you today…  I promise you that this is not going to be a history lesson… partly because I would probably get it horribly wrong (I am always a little bad at retaining the facts!), but also because this blog is more about colour, design and inspiration, and being someone who loves the visual I wanted to file away some of the beautiful colours, textures that I saw.

Step one (as anyone writing a blog will know) is praying for a little divine intervention in the world of my inspiration…. and yes if ever anyone would like their home painted like the Sistine Chapel or the Vatican Church….. umm well…. I will see what I can do, but are you sure you would not like a nice Dulux Hogsbristle Quarter strength throughout???

Me praying for a little divine inspiration – Source Birdcage Design

So enough written, here are a few textures and inspirations that one day may showcase in the “House of Birdcage” Designer collection…. ok…ok…. maybe I am asking a little bit too much from the Big Man…. but hey don’t ask, don’t get so it is worth a try!!!

Mosaics and flooring….

Every inch of these buildings has some form of intricate design work and a story to tell, the issue being with an average of 80,000 people looking round a day it is a little hard to get to fully appreciate everything for long….

…with such vivid colours still shining through….

Doors and Ceilings

Not an inch of space is not considered….. from doors to ceilings to alcoves, each fighting for a spot to tell their story…

Guilded carved door panel – Source Birdcage Design

Showing my true colour geek side,… i just love the contrast of the raspberry colour against the Bronze…. they sure know how to showcase their treasures…

No Natural White Dulux on the ceilings here!!….

My Favourite had to be the little Bee mural as you walk into the Vatican Crypt….(below)

Well I hope you enjoyed my divine intervention…. I will leave you with a Pope’s eye view….. and on with the colourful journey………

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Divine Inspiration from the Vatican

  1. This Sydney Life

    July 26, 2012 at 8:29 am

    To the divine BCD – WHAT A GREAT PIC!

    I for one, can’t wait for the ‘House of Birdcage’ designer collection…

     
    • birdcagedesign

      July 26, 2012 at 9:42 am

      We managed to get there at the right time, then an orderly queue formed for everyone else to take the same picture… very funny. PS I will keep you posted on the collection…..

       
  2. elisaruland

    July 26, 2012 at 12:22 pm

    I’ve been to St. Peter’s twice in the past 3 years, and both times I was so overwhelmed that it was hard not to run out the door. Talk about a wealth of beauty, my eye didn’t know where to rest! We had a guided tour of the museums and next time I will be better served by take an organized tour of the church. Your post was a nice mini-tour, I enjoyed it very much!

     
    • birdcagedesign

      July 26, 2012 at 2:01 pm

      I am not usually one for the guided tours, but we had a great guide taking us through, and the stories behind everything were amazing to hear…. so many little quirks with painters getting their own back at being forced to paint for months on end and leaving little messages in their work. Things that you would never appreciate if you just rocked up and looked around on your own! 🙂

       
  3. twoblackdoggies

    July 26, 2012 at 1:04 pm

    Great photos and I love that people were lining up to take a similar photo to yours, I noticed that alot on our travels especially in Italy. I’m not at all religious but I could spend hours wandering through St Peters admiring all the art and interior architecture, the fact that most, if not all the paintings inside the Basilica are actually mosaics and not paintings blew me away. Thank you for taking me back in time and reminding me of all the beautiful, amazing things to see in Europe.

     
    • birdcagedesign

      July 26, 2012 at 1:58 pm

      Hi there, I am glad you enjoyed… yes I am not overly religious but the sights you see when inside are amazing, I loved the paintings that were three dimensional…. I just wish there were not so many people so you can take it in without being forced through by the crowds….:-)

       
  4. EverydaySparks

    July 26, 2012 at 8:42 pm

    Again with the amazing pics, BCD! So beautiful. As for that light – either divine inspiration or ‘beam me up, Scotty’! 🙂

     
    • birdcagedesign

      July 27, 2012 at 7:46 am

      Yes, i was very tempted to put on my “Spock ears!” 🙂

       

Thanks for stopping by, let me know what you think...

 
