RSS

Upcycle the London Way

13 Jul

box, city, london, phone booth, red, street

As iconic as the Opera House is to Sydney, the Eifel tower in Paris, the proud red phone box holds it’s own as one of the British icons.

As I have mentioned earlier, this is a big year for London with the Jubilee and the Olympics, as such British Telecom have decided to take replica’s one of it’s iconic statements on the London Landscape and get the  juices of various creative minds working to transform the box in celebration. The Scheme is called BTArtBox.

These are due to be auctioned off later in the year in order to raise funds for the UK charity Child Line which will be 25 years old this year.  Here are some of the entires which are situated across London streets for all to enjoy…. if you can find them all I am sure that BT should offer a prize!!!  It would be a bit like hunting all the “Big” Australian icons!

Big Ben

Below New Zealander Mandii Pope putting the finishing touches to her Big Ben Booth.

Box Lounger

City of Birds – Pete Bishop

Benjamin Shine – Long DIstance

Poetry of Life – The DNA Factory

Twitter – a take on the modern day communication methods

These are only a few of the entries, have a look at the website gallery for more fab designs…..

For those of you with a penchant for crayons and glitter, you too can be part of the action with BT asking people to get creative and submit their designs using the following template:

Fun Phone Facts

  • Did you know he good old British phone box was designed by Sir Giles Gilbert Scott to commemorate King George V’s Silver Jubilee.
  • Did you know that the phone box is officially known as a K6! – Think I prefer little red box!
  • The K6 was the first phone box to be used outside of London and the red colour caused outrage in many communities- who argued it detracted from the beauty of their locality.  They were allowed to change the colours, ironically those communities that have held onto the iconic phone booth have now painted them red!.


So which one is your favourite…..? On with the colourful journey………….

 
10 Comments

Posted by on July 13, 2012 in Art, Travel, UK, UK designers

 

Tags: , , , , ,

10 responses to “Upcycle the London Way

  1. This Sydney Life

    July 13, 2012 at 8:10 am

    BCD – you have not let me down! Another fab’ post – what a concept! I particularly love the giraffe, calling ‘long distance’. Awesome!

     
    • birdcagedesign

      July 13, 2012 at 11:40 am

      I thought you might like this I only got to see one when I was in London…… BTW I made your lamb Shanks last night V good!! 🙂

       
      • This Sydney Life

        July 13, 2012 at 3:42 pm

        Yowzer! You did? How fab is that? What a compliment, BCD. Cheers, Possum.

         
        • birdcagedesign

          July 13, 2012 at 3:50 pm

          sure did, have left overs tonight… perfect for the winter blues 😉

           
          • This Sydney Life

            July 13, 2012 at 3:52 pm

            Excellent! I seem to have more luck with my posts when I post a recipe… Maybe I should have a wee think about that!

             
          • birdcagedesign

            July 13, 2012 at 5:26 pm

            Everyone loves food! But I cannot pin point an exact science to this blogging thing 🙂

             
  2. EverydaySparks

    July 13, 2012 at 12:40 pm

    Brilliant! Love the giraffe, love the Twitter peacock, love the lounger, love the Kiwi lady’s Big Ben…in a nutshell, love them all! What a great idea – so colourful and happy. 🙂

     
    • birdcagedesign

      July 13, 2012 at 2:07 pm

      I know I found it hard to choose, i was almost tempted to get my crayons out as well and design one!

       
  3. elisaruland

    July 13, 2012 at 1:16 pm

    I love the iconic red box, but I think I’d get a kick out of seeing the BTArtBox, especially in person….wish I could!

     
    • birdcagedesign

      July 13, 2012 at 2:06 pm

      I am not sure how long they will be sticking around, i suspect that they are going to auction them off at the end of the year so i would think that they will be gone after the olympics unfortunately…. you need to find yourself a sponsor!!! 🙂 I keep trying to win the lotto but it is not working!

       

Thanks for stopping by, let me know what you think...

 
