RSS

Lunch Break – Glamming up the sandwich

25 Apr

OK so this is not technically about interior design….. but it does have a hint of colour and travel attached.  The main incentive behind this post is that the majority of my posts spark that….. “why did I not think of that????” question in my head ( although admittedly I would need to have a great deal of talent to administer most of the creativity that my posts report on), but is is not in a jealous way (well …. ok……maybe a little touch of green). I just love to learn and share some of these fab creatives ideas. Oh and … maybe it does include another one of my loves…FOOD. Yum!!!

Tifamade

One such person that has caught my attention is American Tiffany Iung, who armed with her pink upcycled delight of a bike, delivers sandwiches out of the back of a vintage suitcase around the streets of Paris. Even better the sandwiches are made from market ingredients.  The sandwich combinations are a feature of her blog which is linked to the Tifamade company website.

You can also grab some cakes which are all made from organic ingredients…yum.

I think I will have to put a mental note to call her for a picnic when next in Paris (alas that may be some time!!)

recipe from tifamade's blog

For those who cannot quite get to Paris to pick up their lunch you can visit Tifanny’s blog for her recipes which have a twist of American Parisian charm. You can also grab yourself some glam lunch box accessories…. who said the home made sandwich had to be boring!

Lunch Skins are the perfect accessory for those who have a green conscience.  Re-useable and funky, they are bound to make even the most dreary of sandwiches more appealing

  

Or for those who like to get out the needle and thread you may want to check out The Haby Godess blog spot for their pretty cute lunchbox kit which includes all that you would need…
  

Am also loving these sandwich box designs by Emma Smart for UK supermarket chain Asda. Brings a whole new experience to eating your supermarket prawn and mayonnaise sarnie!

  

  

Well I hope you enjoy your lunch however it may be delivered…. on with the colourful journey……….
 

Tags: , , ,

13 responses to “Lunch Break – Glamming up the sandwich

  1. This Sydney Life

    April 25, 2012 at 9:53 am

    Love this quirky wee post, BCD! Parisian sammie delivery by bike – oh, yes please. Emma Smart’s sammie designs for Asda – very clever and funky. Most excellent, dude! 🙂

     
    • This Sydney Life

      April 25, 2012 at 9:54 am

      BCD? Meant OOTBC!

       
    • birdcagedesign

      April 25, 2012 at 11:15 am

      may be we should get a pink bike and an old suitcase and take some vegemite sandwiches around Hyde Park – what do you think!! 😉

       
      • This Sydney Life

        April 25, 2012 at 11:34 am

        .

        BCD/OOTBC/my blogging buddy/whatever else you like to be known as in this cyber-world – my Mum always made marmite (remember I’m a Kiwi) and cheese sammies. I actually prefer vegemite, but I think the concept is great if we can add cheese!!!

        Better buy Bega! 🙂

         
        • birdcagedesign

          April 25, 2012 at 11:38 am

          I answer to all. Well being originally from the UK I would choose Marmite and Chedder… but we can go Bega ( your friend in the fridge!!- probably got the wrong add) 🙂

           
          • This Sydney Life

            April 25, 2012 at 11:41 am

            Just quietly – I prefer cheddar, too! 🙂

             
          • birdcagedesign

            April 25, 2012 at 11:51 am

            Your secret is safe with me!

             
  2. EverydaySparks

    April 25, 2012 at 10:04 am

    Bonjour & thanks for sharing these great finds. Those sandwich boxes are brilliant. Love the detail – especially the beach theme – would be a shame to throw them away!

     
    • birdcagedesign

      April 25, 2012 at 11:14 am

      merci mon petit aimee!! (long time since i have done French so apologies if I have got this incorrect!). The boxes are pretty cool, I think they were actually designed by a school kid who won a competition!

       
  3. mareelouise

    April 25, 2012 at 10:52 am

    What lovely ideas!
    Great post.
    I take my lunch to work every day, and be it leftovers or a sandwich, we alway shave the best ingredients. But its nice to glam it up- just to add a bit of excitement!

     
    • birdcagedesign

      April 25, 2012 at 11:10 am

      Thanks MareeLouise. Nothing wrong with a glam up of the lunchbox. You can start a trend! 🙂 I need to start getting a little less lazy and making my lunches, now I have the inspiration.

       
  4. Elisa

    April 25, 2012 at 12:56 pm

    Everything is fabulous, but I agree with everyone else; the lunch boxes are brilliant!

    e.

     

Thanks for stopping by, let me know what you think...

 
